Bloomberg Selected as Fallback Adjustment Vendor

ISDA today announced that Bloomberg Index Services Limited (BISL) has been selected to calculate and publish adjustments related to fallbacks that ISDA intends to implement for certain interest rate benchmarks in its 2006 ISDA Definitions.

Bloomberg was chosen following an in-depth selection process, which began with a public invitation to tender published in February. The selection process was run by ISDA and included input from a selection committee with representation from buy- and sell-side market participants.

The adjustments reflect the fact that interbank offered rates (IBORs) are available in multiple tenors, while the risk-free rates (RFRs) identified as fallbacks are overnight rates. The IBORs also incorporate a bank credit risk premium and a variety of other factors, while RFRs do not. A third-party service provider was sought to ensure the adjustments are calculated in a fair and independent manner, based on the methodology chosen following various industry consultations.

The adjustments are expected to be published after the methodologies are finalized and before the new fallbacks apply to ISDA’s amended definitions. ISDA currently expects the fallbacks to take effect in early 2020. Additional information about ISDA’s fallback work is available on the ISDA website.

The calculation will be managed by BISL, which is awaiting authorization from the UK Financial Conduct Authority to become a benchmark administrator under the EU Benchmarks Regulation. Further details will be available before the adjustments are published.

For Press Queries, Please Contact:

Nick Sawyer, ISDA London, +44 203 808 9740, nsawyer@isda.org

Lauren Dobbs, ISDA New York, +1 212 901 6019, ldobbs@isda.org

Christopher Faimali, ISDA London, +44 20 3808 9736, cfaimali@isda.org

Nikki Lu, ISDA Hong Kong, +852 2200 5901, nlu@isda.org

Grace Ngoh, Bloomberg APAC, +65 6231 3690, gngoh2@bloomberg.net

Gauri Andriks, Bloomberg US, +1 212 617 6361, gandriks@bloomberg.net

Anna Schoeffler, Bloomberg EMEA, +44 20 3525 0776, aschoeffler1@bloomberg.net

Pam Snook, Bloomberg LATAM, +1 212 617 7653, pamsnook@bloomberg.net

About ISDA

Since 1985, ISDA has worked to make the global derivatives markets safer and more efficient. Today, ISDA has over 900 member institutions from 71 countries. These members comprise a broad range of derivatives market participants, including corporations, investment managers, government and supranational entities, insurance companies, energy and commodities firms, and international and regional banks. In addition to market participants, members also include key components of the derivatives market infrastructure, such as exchanges, intermediaries, clearing houses and repositories, as well as law firms, accounting firms and other service providers. Information about ISDA and its activities is available on the Association’s website: www.isda.org. Follow us on Twitter @ISDA.

ISDA® is a registered trademark of the International Swaps and Derivatives Association, Inc.

Documents (1)